Saturday, 29 June 2019 13:38

Miroslav Angelov and Georgi Gadzhev are leaders after first loop

Miroslav Angelov and Georgi Gadzhev are leading the 39th Monbat Rally Sliven after the first three stages of leg 1. Second with almost half of minute are Dan Girtofan and Tudor Marza, and third are Tihomir Stratiev and Edi Sivov.

In the first two stages the differences between the first three crews were minimal. Angelov and Gadzhev recorded the best time in the "Ablanavo" opening stage, where their main competitors Girtofan and Marza finished with 4,2 sec behind them. Stratiev and Sivov show good pace, which made them third with 7,2 sec lag. Yordan Atanasov and Yanaki Yanakiev led decisively in the ERT 2 class.

In this stage Haralampi Lekov and Yordan Batakliev with Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX dropped out due to failure in the front differential. Todor Atanasov and Vladimir Vladimirov rolled, but the crew is well.

In the second stage "Tchukata", Angelov and Gadzhev were first again, but this time with a minimal difference from the Romanian crew - 1,9 seconds. Stratiev and Sivov hit the rail guard but were third again. Luckily for the crew of Marina Motorsport the damage of their Ford Fiesta Prroto was only superficial.

In the third stage Angelov recorded third sequential victory but with a substantial difference from Gitofan and Marza. The Romanians overtook the Zero car and expect review of their on-board camera to confirm their result. Third were again Stratiev and Sivov.

Yordan Atanasov had serious brake problems with his Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX which he expects to solve in the service zone.

In 2wd category after the first three stages the leader is Grigor Grigorov (Peugeot 208 R2). With 17,4 seconds behind are Anton Titov and Dinko Georgiev (Citroen DS3 R3T) and Dilyan Stankov and Yordan Yordanov are third with 24,4 seconds from the leaders.

In the E group leader is Kalin Benchev which got a puncture in the beginng of the first special stage and drove with it untill the end of the stage loosing substantial amount of time. Second in the group are Mario Popov/ Daniel Metchikyan (Ford Fiesta EcoBoost) and third are Petar Bochkov and Daniel Vulchev with Citroen Saxo.